What a Year it’s Been!

ITCH_12_s4x3.jpg.rend.snigalleryslide (1)
Source: http://www.foodnetwork.com/shows/food-network-star.html

Hey! Happy New Year!

I know I’m a few days late, but here is my cliche, obligatory 2014-year-in-review and 2015-new-year-new-me-blah-blah-blah post.

Are you sick of these yet?

000000000000000000000000000000000

Zoinks. 2015 sounds so futuristic.

In reality, we’ll all just be spending the next few months trying to turn a 4 into a 5 every time we have to write the date.

The struggle is real.

CHAP_63_s4x3.jpg.rend.sni18col
Source: http://www.foodnetwork.com/shows/food-network-star.html

So lets talk about 2014, shall we?

Wow 2014. WOW!

You were a crazy, unexpected, amazing and vulnerable year that was chock full of challenges and opportunities. You were a year I’ll never forget, with lots of growing, shifting, learning and transforming. Years like you are always the hardest.

2014, you were more than a bit uncomfortable at times. But deep down, I know those growing pains usually lead to much, much greater things.

It is my personal philosophy that life needs to be shaken up every once in a while, otherwise you aren’t really living. Risks are scary and hard to take, but they always end in either a reward or a lesson, and both of those are very good things.

KUDO_67_s4x3.jpg.rend.snigalleryslide
Source: http://www.foodnetwork.com/shows/food-network-star.html

But hey! 2014 was also full of all kinds of great FOOD.

Between filming Food Network Star and renovating our kitchen, I ate more take-out this year than I ever thought possible. But somehow, I still managed to squeeze in a whole lot of cooking.

IMG_2972

Like these salted brown butter chocolate chip cookies! They were my number one most viewed and requested recipe of the year. I’m so glad you loved them as much as I did!

Haven’t made them yet? You’re definitely missing out. They’re the perfect way to mess up that diet you just started.

Note to self: More cookie recipes in 2015. Check.

IMG_1585

Actually, come to think of it, everything with brown butter was a big hit last year. Like those there scallops, and these here waffles!

IMG_0807

There will for sure be more brown butter in 2015.

2014 was also a year of meeting new people and creating new friendships.

KUDO_47_s4x3.jpg.rend.snigalleryslide
Source: http://www.foodnetwork.com/shows/food-network-star.html

This wacky cast of characters bonded quickly and have stayed in touch ever since. I adore each and every one of them, and couldn’t have gotten through that wild experience without them. ❤

10489868_599747673476707_1757430089188863632_n

2014 was the year Emma Frisch and I began our conquest to take over the world, one recipe at a time.

In 2014 I continued my love affair with tomatoes.

I’m already dreaming and drooling over the 2015 season.

IMG_0550

I had waaay too much fun on my trip to New Orleans.

And ate ALL of the food.

IMG_3265

In 2014 we ripped out our old ugly kitchen and replaced it with a brand spankin’ new one – all thanks to this great guy I get to call a husband.

Official pictures coming soon. PROMISE!

…But here’s a sneak peek:

unnamed (10)

So what’s in store for 2015?

I’ll be making a few changes around here pretty soon, so stay tuned!

There will be more recipes and more VIDEOS!

There will be more tomatoes. More brown butter. More cookies. More seafood. More YUM.

In 2015 I’m going to give you more of ME. Not the me I thought you wanted me to be.  The real me. Pure unadulterated Coley. Flaws and all.

Lord knows there’s lots of ’em.

tumblr_inline_n7yssr2vkO1qz7ad1

Oh, and I’ll try to smile more too.

🙂 See? Already off to a good start.

These are all things I know will go down in 2015. The rest is still a mystery. That’s what’s so cool about the future. We can predict it all we want, but in the end, we just don’t know.

2015, I can’t wait to see what you have in store.

Cheers to a happy, healthy and wealthy New Year for all.

IMG_1944

7 thoughts on “What a Year it’s Been!”

  1. What a year, for sure! Beautiful kitchen renovation! My husband and I are preparing to move in to an old farmhouse, and the kitchen will need a lot of love. Dreading the piles of take-out we’ll have to eat before the kitchen is ready for cooking again! Happy new year to you and your family!

    1. For some reason I’m just seeing this comment now, it got lost in the shuffle! Thank you so much – the new kitchen has been a dream to work in. I’ll be posting more about it soon. Good luck with your farmhouse renovation. I’m sure it will be a lot of work but totttallllly worth it in the end!! Happy (belated) New Year to you and yours as well!

Leave a Reply

