Kitchen Update

IMG_0336

There it is, folks. This is what my kitchen currently looks like in real time. Which goes without saying that, no, after 2 months of construction it’s still not finished.

It might be helpful if you knew what the kitchen looked like before we began the renovation. Take a peek at the audition video I made for Food Network Star last October and you can get a pretty good feel for what I was working with.

Of all the homes we looked at, this one had the worst kitchen and bathrooms by a long shot, but it also had the most potential. So we chose to deal with the old dingy appliances, cabinets that were falling apart, cheap stained counter tops, and my favorite: linoleum floors designed to look like fake green and black marble that were poorly installed and peeling up at the edges. Barf.

IMG_3126

We had big plans to take down the walls separating the living room from the kitchen, get rid of the dining room, and have one big open space with a massive island that would seat lots of people.

In early August, we embarked on this journey fully aware that we had our work cut out for us. And here we are, two months later, still at it.

Now, I can’t take much credit for all this work. I’ve mostly sat back and complained about how brutal it’s been not having a kitchen. But as a chef, a huge part of my life is missing and it’s throwing me all out of whack.

Yes, that classifies as a bratty first world problem. But don’t we all have them?

Without a kitchen, I don’t know which way is up. And that’s why I’m totally copping out and have no recipe to share this week. But I know you come here for my witty, poignant prose and not the recipes anyway.

Right…?

I really owe Chaser way more praise than I’ve been giving him lately. He’s been working his tail off, around the clock, in order to get me back into my comfort zone. I hope he’s been getting a workout, because as soon as things are finished…

WATCH OUT WORLD! I’m gonna be cooking like a wild banshee. I expect everyone around me to gain at least 10 pounds.

Which for the record, is a good thing.

I was really stoked and motivated to cook out of this little corner of my living room in the beginning, as evidenced here.

IMG_3114

But as time’s gone on, I’ve gotten incredibly antsy. Cooking on a hot plate that never quite gets hot enough, on a low shaky table has since lost its luster. Not to mention, washing dishes in the tub was never cool. I don’t understand how people wash their kids in these things. Doesn’t your back hurt? Its no wonder people say parenting is hard.

Our diet lately has included lots of smoothies, an embarrassing amount of pizza, a few sandwiches, simple salads and the occasional bowl of pasta if I’m feeling really ambitious.

Oh, and about all the tomato toast a person can handle. But its all starting to get old. My heart’s been aching for baking.

See, I’ve been having major FOMO lately, which is the dumbest thing ever, but it’s real. Watching all my favorite food bloggers and friends on social media roasting chickens, baking pies, and canning all the end-of-the-season produce has been tearing away at my soul!

I just wanna be in on the fun.

IMG_0279

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest we can move on to the good news: There’s light at the end of the tunnel! We have walls now! And a floor! We have cabinets!! And appliances! Granted they haven’t been installed yet, but it’s beginning to look a lot like a kitchen. A little more every day.

The tarp that was once separating the living room from the kitchen has been taken down, and it’s finally starting to feel real. Very soon, life will go back to normal.

What even is normal? I don’t think anyone really knows.

We’re in the final stretch now, and I can’t wait to share the end results with you guys here. Of course, with a new kitchen will come lots of new exciting recipes.

In the meantime, I’ll be doing my best to practice more patience, eating lots of tomato toast and letting my husband know that I appreciate him and his hard work much more than I’ve been letting on.

IMG_3404
Never too busy to enjoy a bowl of ice cream. How life should always be.

14 thoughts on “Kitchen Update”

  1. It will all be worth it in the long run! I’m jealous – I would love to re-do my kitchen, although it sounds like mine is nowhere near as bad as yours was! Can’t wait to see the finished pictures! And the tomato toast looks fabulous, by the way!

  2. WOW that’s major renovation! Are you protecting that new fridge? I can’t wait to see the end result! There is so much to say for doing it yourself. It looks amazing!

    1. Thanks! We’re totally going to have to have a girls night here once its finished. Can’t wait. The fridge is being well protected in a corner of the living room. No worries! miss ya xoxo

  3. It’s going to be so worth it in the end. Loved reading this post- went through the “horrors” of renovation about 3 months ago- turning a garage into a study/tv room… And I must say, in spite of it all…. I always find myself looking back and thinking… “What a great change!”

    1. Thanks for commenting- it’s so nice to hear these words of encouragement. Not a day goes by that I think of something I’d like to cook and then realize I can’t! I know the new kitchen is going to be amazing, but patience has never been my strongest virtue. I’m trying!! 🙂

  4. I was WAITING for someone to mention the Mr. Peanut thing. I was thinking maybe no one got it. So THANK YOU! The banner magically appeared this weekend – I think it was the work of a fairy

  5. I have been thru the kitchen reno thing and it is horrific but it does end…eventually! We all survived and it without a doubt gives new appreciation and enthusiasm for cooking and baking. I so enjoy your blog and recipes..you’ve mmde a follower out of me! Good luck with your kitchen!

    1. We are nearing the end now! Counter tops went in yesterday, they look great. I’m going to wait until the whole thing is done to do a final reveal. I am bursting at the seams to start cooking and especially baking again! I’ve decided I want to master the art of bread baking, which isn’t easy, but I’m up for the challenge. Thanks for following, and stay tuned for the big reveal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

